Thursday, December 31, 2020


2013 Sun Queen Crowned August 9, 2013

2013 Sun Queen Crowned

The Sun Bowl Association announces the coronation of the 2013 Sun Queen and Sun Court.

The Sun Bowl Association announced the coronation of the 2013 Sun Queen and Sun Court on Saturday evening at the El Paso Country Club.

Madeline Clark, daughter of Charles and Susan Clark, was crowned the 2013 Sun Queen. Clark is a junior marketing major at the University of Texas at Austin.

Clark is a member of the Alpha Phi Women’s Fraternity, is a mentor recruitment co-chair for Gateway Scholars and serves on the Women’s Business Council. While in Austin, she has worked as a tutor in the Austin Partner in Education program.

She is the founder of the “Head to Toe” charity that gathers warm clothing during the holiday season for local organizations such as Dame La Mano, Child Crisis Center, El Paso Rescue Mission and the Children’s Grief Center.

A graduate of Eastwood High School, Clark was a member of the Mayor’s Top-100 Teens, a recipient of the Kohl’s Kids Who Care scholarship, captain of the Saltatrix Varsity Dance Team and the senior class treasurer.

The 2012 Lady-In-Waiting is Bhriannon Tiscareño, daughter of Rosario Tiscareño. She is a senior mechanical engineering major at the University of Texas at El Paso.

Tiscareño is a member of the Mexican American Engineering Society and the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers. She has also been a part of the UTEP marching band and steel drum ensemble and is the percussion instructor at Americas High School.

She volunteers her time as youth director, confirmation catechist and the pastoral council at Saint Patrick’s Church. Tiscareño has also been involved with the Austin High School Gear Up Math and Science Tutoring Program, the Sun City Regional Science Fair, the Chapin Senior Symposium and the Lego League-Robotics Competition.

A graduate of Chapin High School, Tiscareño was a member of the Project Lead the Way Engineering Magnet Program, the National Honor Society, the Hispanic Honor Society, and was the section leader of the percussion section of the band.

The 2013 Aria Borunda, Winter De La Cruz, Rebecca Gutierrez, Hannah Hartshorn, Savannah Lewis, Elizabeth Marquez, Melissa Moya, Bianca Salas, Perla Salcedo, Elizabeth Vicencio and Audrey Westcott.

Judging is based on poise, appearance, personality, communication and interpersonal skills and the ability to demonstrate knowledge of El Paso. Contestants must be enrolled as full-time students. The coronation has been a tradition in El Paso since the first collegiate Sun Bowl game in 1936.

Sun Court members serve as ambassadors for the Sun Bowl Association, as well as for the City of El Paso. The Sun Queen and Sun Princesses will attend various community events, such as the Hyundai Sun Bowl, FirstLight Federal Credit Union Sun Bowl Parade, WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational, Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic, Academy Sports + Outdoors Sun Bowl International Soccer Tournament, Price’s Creameries Sun Bowl youth camps and clinics and other various events throughout the community.

Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL
Fax: (915) 533-0661