Monday, December 31, 2018


Sun Bowl Association Announces Pac-12 Partnership Renewal June 24, 2013

Sun Bowl Association Announces Pac-12 Partnership Renewal

The Sun Bowl Association announced today the extension of its partnership with the Pac-12 Conference with a six-year agreement beginning in 2014.

“The Pac 12 has been an invaluable partner for the Sun Bowl for many years and we are looking forward to our continued partnership with them,” said Walker Crowson, President of the Sun Bowl Association. “The Pac 12 Conference has helped the Sun Bowl deliver quality and exciting match-ups to El Paso in the past and will continue into the future.”

The Hyundai Sun Bowl Football Selection Committee will have the fourth selection from the Pac-12 following the newly-formed College Football Playoff subject to selection guidelines established by the conference. With the new contract, the 2014 game will begin a six-year appearance at Sun Bowl Stadium through 2019.

“The Pac-12 looks forward to continuing our relationship with the Sun Bowl, that outside of the Rose Bowl, has stretched longer than any other bowl game," said Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott. “Our teams thoroughly enjoy the hospitality and overall experience provided by the Sun Bowl and El Paso community. Maintaining our partnership with the Sun Bowl provides another quality postseason matchup for the Conference, and adds to an already strong lineup of bowl games for years to come.”

Pac-12 teams have combined for a total of 29 appearances in the Hyundai Sun Bowl for an overall record of 16-12-1, including a 10-7 record over the last 18 years. Seven of the bowl’s all-time highest attended games have featured a Pac-12 team.

The Hyundai Sun Bowl Football Selection Committee is currently under negotiations to bring a quality opponent from a current Bowl Championship Series conference to match up with the Pac-12.

The Hyundai Sun Bowl is the second oldest college football bowl game in the nation. First played in 1935, the Hyundai Sun Bowl currently matches teams from the ACC and Pac-12 conferences. The Sun Bowl has featured many college football stars that went on to outstanding pro football careers. The list includes such stalwarts as Merlin Olsen, Tony Dorsett, Barry Sanders, Don Maynard, Jesse Whittenton, Billy Stevens, Charlie Johnson, Carson Palmer and LaDainian Tomlinson.

Over the past 79 years, the Sun Bowl has drawn more than two million fans through its gates and has averaged 50,299 fans a year over this past decade, including four sellouts in 2004 (51,288), 2005 (50,426), 2009 (53,713) and 2010 (54,021).

The Sun Bowl has a legacy of providing top quality entertainment and exciting college football games. In 2011, the first overtime contest in game history came as Utah tied up the score with 1:32 left in regulation. The Utes responded to a Georgia Tech field goal with a touchdown for the 30-27 win.

This year’s game will mark the 80th anniversary of the Sun Bowl and is scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 31 at noon (MST) at Sun Bowl Stadium. CBS Sports will broadcast the game for the 46th consecutive year.

The Sun Bowl Association produces additional major community events, such as the FirstLight Federal Credit Union Sun Bowl Parade, the WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational, the Academy Sports + Outdoors Sun Bowl International Soccer Tournament, the Sun Bowl Fan Fiesta and the Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic.

Sun Bowl Association Unveils 80th Anniversary Logo June 21, 2013

Sun Bowl Association Unveils 80th Anniversary Logo

The Sun Bowl Association is proud to unveil a special anniversary logo to commemorate the 80th edition of the Hyundai Sun Bowl game.

The Hyundai Sun Bowl, the second oldest bowl game behind the Rose Bowl, was first played on Tuesday, Jan. 1, 1935, at El Paso High School’s Jones Stadium. This year’s game will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 31 at Sun Bowl Stadium.

“On behalf of the Sun Bowl Association, we would like to thank the city of El Paso for its continuous support of the bowl game during the past eight decades,” said Sun Bowl Association Executive Director Bernie Olivas.

“We take pride in the history and tradition that the Hyundai Sun Bowl game has built, not only in our community, but in the world of college football. We’ll be using this commemorative logo throughout the year to remind our fans of one of the treasures of the Southwest.”

In addition to celebrating the 80th anniversary of the football game, the Sun Bowl Association has a special treat for a select number of fans that attend this year’s game. On December 31 ticket buyers will have a chance to win one of 80 gifts donated by local and national businesses on December 31.

“We were looking for a way to reward our fans that support us when buying a ticket to our game,” Olivas said. “The partnerships we’ve been able to build with businesses in and out of El Paso throughout the years are tremendous. They’re excited to help us celebrate an important milestone of our game with their donation.”

Every ticket purchased will be entered to win one of the 80 gifts to be given away during the game.

The 2013 game will mark 46th consecutive broadcast on CBS. The game features selections from the ACC and Pac-12 conferences.

Tickets for the 2013 Hyundai Sun Bowl are $17, $22, $32, $42, $52 and $62 and will go on sale at a later date.